For the first time in two years since I arrived in Vancouver, I was thankful that I live here.

It was so hard, moving to a country where you’ve become a stranger. Different culture, language and belief made me more homesick. Lucky, as people would say who are looking for greener pastures, but for me, it was the opposite. It felt like it was the end of the world, having to move to a place where you feel alienated and unfit. People live to work here, no time for fun or leisure. A wound that was created since I moved, I thought would never heal. And little by little, taking one step at a time, I cried, I learned, I laughed, I made friends, I adapted. I still miss where I lived before, but I would never exchange it to what I have now, and I thank God for it. God has given me this opportunity that I never saw as an advantage, but as a punishment. God has His mysterious way of giving and taking things to and from you. I still think that not everything happens for a reason, but I believe that time can only heal you, and God has its perfect timing for everything. 

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

